Rosy, the 50’s Crochet Pinup Fairy


Cute crochet 50's style flower fairy doll

Meet Rosy

Say hello to Rosy, my latest crochet fairy. She’s a one off and totally unique.  She’s inspired by 50’s Rockabilly styling. I would have given her tattoos if she weren’t so bumpy ( she is crocheted after all) but I thought her big quiff and high pony tail plus the polka dot halter neck top gave her the flavour I was looking for. I love the contrast of the green eyes with her mainly red clothing and hair.

Pin up style crochet fairy

Her full outfit

Her hair and feet are adorned with pink roses, her full skirt is made of flower petals and her wings are glittery green on a rose hue. She stands a full 10″ tall and her arms and legs are wired, making them pose-able.

Red haired fairy crochet doll

Isn't she pretty?

Red and pink crochet fairy doll

From the side

Rosy’s eyes are safety eyes but she is only suitable for older children due to the fact that her arms and legs are wired. She is intended mainly as a collectible, being handmade but is sturdily enough made to withstand a certain amount of hands on play.

She would make a great gift for a special child. She is available in my Folksy shop. 

I have lots of other things there, do have a browse sometime.

2 responses to “Rosy, the 50’s Crochet Pinup Fairy

  1. Now see, this is something I’ve never tried to sew but would LOVE to. I have a 6 month old grandson, (gush, gush, swoon), and I really, really want to make him a boy doll (?) do I dare say? Something his Dad would not have a stroke over because it looks girly. How do you get started on a gorgeous project like this one? I LOVE it!
    Laurie

    • Hi Laurie, Bless you for taking such an interest in my blog. I don’t know if you crochet, but I got inspiration for Rosie from Beth Webber’s blog By Hook By Hand. She is a source of such wonderful creative tutorials, both crochet and sewing and she is really easy to follow. Here is a link to the basic crochet doll that you can adapt Free Spirit Amigurumi Doll. If crochet isn’t your thing, then check out the left side column. There is a link there to a sewn doll that is darling. I’m sure you will get some joy from her site. I know I do! Such a great idea to handmake a boy doll for your grandson. He will love it!

Leave a comment