Wrapping beautiful, stylish, unique women in art


This blog post is not about fashion. Fashion in my mind is more to do with status than expression. This post is about style and about originality and art,  it is to celebrate diversity and beauty found in being fearless and expressing yourself.

The clothes I make for unique individuals, are a collaboration. I start off with suggestions from the client, I try to gain a feel of what the client is about: colour preferences, ideologies, and favourite imagery. One proviso, though, I do not do beige or pastel colours. It is just not something that I could make work. I’m all about vibrancy and passion which I do not feel is reflected in beige and pastel. This is why I’m very drawn to the beautiful kento batik african fabrics as they are bold and brave and sometimes quite eccentric in the printed  imagery chosen, which suits my taste right down to the ground. I’m in the process of making myself a dress  with fabric covered in prawns, yes prawns…

Isn't it just fabulous?

Isn’t it just fabulous?

I thought it was about time to share some of the wonderful pictures  from my delightful friends /clients who have shared the moment when they first wear their piece of wearable art. They are priceless. There will be more, this is , hopefully an ongoing perk of making wearable art for unique individuals.

 

Sue Kreitzman, Fabulous Fashionista wearing Diane Goldie , c.Art in Sunday Times Style magazine

My very first client, Fabulous Fashionista Sue Kreitzman wearing her portrait kimono for the Sunday Times Style magazine shoot. Sue remains an inspiration and has become a dear friend whom I treasure.

Cass 1

Cassandra in her very sleek fitting Frida pencil dress. Oh how beautiful she looks!

 

AM2

Beautiful Anne Marie in her Wonderwoman dress. She is quite the wonderwoman in real life too!

AM3

The brief was Wonderwoman , pink and Cat Woman . Two divas on one dress, hmm, that would have resulted in a bit of a struggle, so Cat Woman was symbolised by the leopard print side panels.

AM4

I think she looks spectacular! I hope it makes her feel like Wonderwoman when she wears it.

Kate1

Amazing Kate in her Frida’ Hummingbird’ dress . Kate is not only beautiful, but smart and free spirited . She loves dragon flies and dandelions.

Kate2

The brief was autumnal colours with a pop of red and orange, dandelions, Frida and dragonflies. Kate also requested a co-ordinating wrap. I wish I had Kate’s beautiful flame red hair…

Lolo1

This short cape was created for Lolo Moniasse, a model and muse. She inspires me . The theme was ‘Elements’ and features air, fire, earth and water.

Lolo2

Lolo is not only physically beautiful, but incredibly spiritual and quietly radiates a wonderful warm energy that inspires and soothes in equal measures.

Lolo3

Her short cape features a double portrait of herself, based on a photo by Simon Fairclough on the front and an original portrait by myself on the back, featuring Lolo’s fascinating scarification patterns.

Lolo4

Beautiful, original and unique. The capes not bad too…

Marnie bag1

This is another of my muses, my dear friend Marnie Scarlet. modelling her portrait tote bag based on a photo by Helene Jaspers. Without Marnie’s inspiration c.Art would have never existed. Love you Marnie.

Marnie bag2

Here is another one of Marnie’s bags a quite bonkers pink Nelephant bag based on photos by Tigz Rice Studios.

Marnie bag3

This is the back of the portrait bag, this side features an image based on the photo taken by Mark Lloyd of M L Imagery of the wonderful person who embodies living art, Marnie Scarlet.

Miz Thang 1

Visionary artist and brilliantly bonkers beautiful human being. Miz Thang I love you! Miz Thang sent me a plain white tux jacket all the way from the States and here she is rocking the transformed version. The brief? Well, it’s Frida Kahlo .

Miz Thang2

Here’s Miz Thang again, wearing a cape I made for her based on her own incredible paintings of Circus Freaks. It had to be one of my favourite pieces to make .

There will be more posts like this, oh boy. How excited and privileged am I to do this?

Links and contact details

Sue Kreitzman

Marnie Scarlet

ML Imagery: mlimagery@gmail.com

Helene Jaspers

Tigz Rice Studios

Cassandra  http://www.thelondonbootcampcompany.com/

Lolo Moniasse

Miz Thang

 

To join us on the c.Art wearable journey, get in touch with me via my website or on my Facebook page or email me on thebabyfairyfifi@hotmail.com or send me a message via the contact form below.

By the way, you don’t have to be female…

Leave a Reply

