Dress to Impress!


As my journey to create a collection  of wearable art continues, I realised I needed to make myself something suitably stylish to wear to represent my brand.

I don’t know about you, dear reader , but I really struggle to find clothes to fit, either my size ( between a 16 and 20 depending on the make ) or to suit my rather eclectic and I’m starting to believe , eccentric taste. Making my own hand painted clothes just seemed to be the obvious next step.

Sue , Scorpio and me

Here I am at Sue Kreitzman’s beautiful home with the Goddess of colour herself and my good friend and fellow artist, Scorpio.

So I made this dress:me in dressIMAG1610_1I used a beautiful african kente batik fabric with green swirls, red, pink and orange details , that at first seemed to be flowers but on closer inspection , turned out to be keys. I used a 50’s inspired full circle halter neck dress pattern ,  hand painted a Frida Kahlo self portrait with parrots for the top of the dress, then painted two flying parrots for the skirt . I then cut out large, irregular flower shapes from the brightest colours I had and appliqued them to the skirt.

 

Once my friends saw my dress, they asked me to make dresses for them too. So I made these :

IMAG1612_1_1

Frida Kahlo sacred heart dress in black cotton with hand painted images and appliqued flowers

IMAG1719_1

Frida Kahlo Hummingbird dress with dragonflies, dandelions and poppies.

IMAG1752

A shorts playsuit , Frida and parrots theme

IMAG1762_1

A Wonderwoman in pink dress, with leopard applique. For a very special friend.

IMAG1783

Frida parrot dress in pencil , close fitting style.

IMAG1730_1

A large Frida Kahlo fully lined wrap , appliqued with green velvet, dandelions and a hand painted Frida with applique flowers.

IMAG1786_1

A special dress for a 4 year old princess .

IMAG1800

A goddess bolero and dress two piece, featuring appliqued and hand painted Hindu goddesses on the front of the dress, and back of the bolero.

IMAG1796

The back of the bolero

IMAG1795 (1)

Front of the bolero, featuring a satin appliqued lotus flower and four gold buttons , symbolising gold coins.

IMAG1847

Bespoke punk rebel woman themed dress. All handpainted with quotes and portraits of prominent punk women.

IMAG1615_1 IMAG1617_1 IMAG1721 IMAG1754_1 IMAG1758_1 IMAG1852All of these dresses are hand made, hand painted and appliqued and cost £135 plus £8 post and packing. To order yours, please email Diane at thebabyfairyfifi@hotmail.com with your preferred colour way, dress size, choice of images and /or text or a general theme.  There is a months waiting list, so do place your orders as soon as you can to avoid disappointment.

Short kimono style jackets are in the pipeline. Capes are always available to order.

http://www.iheartcart.com

http://www.facebook.com/c.Artbags

Leave a Reply

