Forget Fashion, Embrace Style!


What is fashion?

 

Fashion, is it about wearing clothes to make you look good?

Could  it about fitting in to the current trend so that you feel comfortable in your surroundings? Is it a demonstration of personal taste and status? Maybe fashion is more about demonstrating your youth and desirability by wearing current trends ?

It’s definitely not just about wearing clothes. There is an entire industry built up around fashion that relies on first making us ( mostly women but increasingly these days, men)  feel insecure so that the marketing forces can sell us something : make up/ plastic surgery/ perfume /and yes, fashion.

I’ve never been one for fashion per se. I can’t stand the wastefulness of current trends that throw away perfectly good clothes just because someone has dictated them to be ‘so last year daaahling’.

But I do love clothes and dressing up and colour. Oh I so do…me Colourful me me in heaven me in dressI’m wearing the most incredible pop surreal millinery  on my head, by the wonderful Bink of Pearls and Swine. Do check her stuff out, it’s INCREDIBLE!  The dresses I make myself. If you fancy one made for you , get in touch. I can make your vision of yourself happen.

www.iheartcart.com

www.facebook.com/c.Artbags

Fashion is targeted mainly at youth, no surprise there, as youth is perceived in our society as the ultimate symbol of beauty. I can’t deny that youth is beautiful all on it’s own. There is no need to gild the lily of youth.

Those of us who are a little, lets say , more mature , are usually forgotten in fashion. We do not count because we all know that women over a certain age become invisible , don’t they?

Or do they?

Well thanks to  Ari Seth Cohen and his Advanced Style blog, current thinking is starting to change. There is an ‘old lady’ revolution going on, but I prefer to call it a Goddess Revolution. My own personal inspiration is the Goddess Sue Kreitzman Sue Mami Watawho I  consider a dear friend and inspiration. An exponent of the wearable art movement, Sue doesn’t as much get dressed as curate herself. She is a walking work of art and a massive supporter of other artists and makers.  She is the Queen of colour and I am delighted and flattered to be currently making her garments of a decidedly colourful nature, featuring hand painted images of her own artwork that are appliqued and embroidered and sometimes painted directly onto the garment itself. ( This picture features a garment I made based on the Mami Wata theme, featuring Sue’s artwork once again).

This past Sunday , I was honoured to be part of the feature in the Sunday Times Style magazine where Sue was wearing one of my wearable art  kimonos that I recently made for her.  The cover features a splendid jacket by the very wonderful Lauren Shanley. My garment is the one in the feature. Style Cover Style inside style mag copy

Sue toothy3 Sue toothy2 Sue toothy1So I say forget the fear of being different, bat away the stuff they feed us to make us insecure. Age isn’t something to fear, it’s something to be embraced! The only reason fashion changes every season is to make us buy more stuff… think about that . Dig deep inside yourself and discover your real style. It’s lurking there somewhere.  Find it , then once you find it, just flaunt it. Because daahling, we only live once. So let’s make it a fabulous , colourful , fearless life.

 

 

One response to “Forget Fashion, Embrace Style!

  1. Hey, nice post! I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion and style. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

