From Virgin White to Glorious Colour : the birth of a Frida Jacket


Creating something special for the extraordinary artist , Miz Thang

What a fortunate woman I am at the minute. I have recently been commissioned by the extraordinary American Folk artist, Miz Thang  to create something wonderful from a vintage white tux tailcoat. The theme was Frida Kahlo which made me very happy as Frida is very close to my heart.

It was pretty daunting to make the first painty marks on this pure white garment that had been flown all the way to me from across the Atlantic Ocean. But I stuck my courage to the sticking place ( sorry Lady Macbeth) and gave it a go.

It’s currently flying it’s way back to Miz Thang on an aeroplane. It’s a well travelled tux. Here is it’s story in pictures.

IMAG1275 IMAG1276 IMAG1289_1 IMAG1293_1 IMAG1296_1 IMAG1297 IMAG1314_1 IMAG1315 (1) IMAG1316 IMAG1318 IMAG1319 IMAG1320 IMAG1322 IMAG1323 IMAG1324 IMAG1325 IMAG1393

I can’t wait to see pictures of the marvellous Miz Thang wearing her new arty tux. It is such a joy to help people become walking art pieces, especially when they are already fabulous artists!

I’m currently working on the most amazing cape for her, featuring her very own , delightfully bonkers paintings of circus freaks. This one is worth waiting for… I can’t wait to show you!

Leave a Reply

