Opening up to the world and receiving it’s ( very colourful) blessings


Art , Fashion and the power of the muse

Sue and SueHere’s Sue Kreitzman and Sue Bourne the producer behind Fabulous Fashionistas. Sue K is wearing a coat I made for her inspired by the African Goddess Mami Wata.

I was recently at the opening night of Sue Kreitzman‘s solo exhibition Sue Kreitzman World at Cult Mountain in Shoreditch. ( I’m afraid it’s now over…it’s taken me far too long to get round to blogging. ) It was a great night, full of colourful characters scorpio at sue's                     ( My lovely and very talented and stylish  friend Scorpio the artist)

and even I dressed up for the occasion. me at Sue's exhib     (Forgive the cheesy grin) Hair flowers by the  incredible Bink of Pearls and Swine

The evening passed quickly , Sue was a great hit and a true star. Her work looked splendid in a gallery setting. It was great to see her colourful creations up close. One of the main highlights of the exhibition was a painting by the talented Ella Guru Artist of Sue and her close friend and artist, Anne Sophie Cochevelou in Sue’s incredible home. Sue in front of paintingIt was such a privilege to have my own work exhibited alongside Sue’s as part of her world. What a lucky woman I am! 2014-03-13 20.07.12As the night drew to a close, a vision of loveliness walked past my table. I knew I had to get to know her. I smiled and she smiled back. I couldn’t help myself as I stuttered: ” You are beautiful”. You can see why … Brit and Lolo(Lolo on the left with gallery owner, Brit)

When a muse walks into your life, there is no room for being shy, so I contacted this shy and sweet natured woman on Facebook and asked her if I could make her an item of clothing to wear, inspired by her. To my great delight, she was very excited by the offer.

Lolo Moniasse  an extraordinary human being. She has an incredible spirit and a unique look, her unique scarification making her a walking work of art. Dariusz Adamek Lolo                                            (photo by Dariusz Adamek)konfral                                           ( photo by konfral.com)

I had had the idea to make capes. It seemed to come out of nowhere. A gift from the Universe, you might say. But the more I thought about it, the more sense it made. I am a very committed feminist and I wanted to celebrate women in my work. What better way to celebrate the everyday hero that is woman than by putting women in capes? And not just any old cape, but a cape that is a wearable piece of art.

So I set about making a cape for Lolo. First I sought inspiration from her images. I found an image by a photographer called Simon Fairclough of a tribal shoot that he had done with Lolo. One of the pictures in particular caught my eye. I thought about the chat I had had with Lolo about her back scarification and how it symbolised the elements. So I decided to base the cape on the theme of the four elements..

IMAG1260_1Here is the image of Lolo as Earth. Painted and embroidered. Based on Simon Fairclough’s photo. This went on the front of the cape.

I used two different but complimenting African batik fabrics to make the basic cape . On top of that I appliqued images that I hand painted and machine embroidered and I used contrasting fabrics to applique luminous orange flames around the bottom of the cape, and silver fabric to applique fish. White cotton fabric was appliqued to create feathers. ( Earth, fire , water and air).

IMAG1269_1 IMAG1268_1 IMAG1265_1

The back of the cape featured a portrait of Lolo showing her back scarification which I embroidered to enhance the 3D quality of the scars. IMAG1267_1 (1) IMAG1266_1Lolo was depicted as an Elemental Goddess, with four arms, each arm holding a symbol of each element.  Appliqued leaves scattered about in green.

It was wonderful to see Lolo wearing her cape. She is going to shoot it properly with Simon who inspired the front image with his beautiful photo. I can’t wait to see the result of those images.

But for now, here are my humble photos of a very happy Lolo in her elements cape. IMAG1304 IMAG1302

If you like what you see and fancy a cape of your own, I’m open for orders . They cost £150 for the short cape or £200 for a longer thigh length cape. The capes are fully lined and each one is a one off , unique piece. The theme /images are entirely up to you. I’m currently working on a few orders, so there is a one month waiting time. Good things come to those that wait.

www.iheartcart.com

www.facebook.com/c.Artbags

Leave a Reply

