Serendipity? Oh yes! Oh yes!


 

It’s been an interesting few days, full of coincidences and chance meetings.

I’m the sort of person who believes that if you are on the right path, then things go right and coincidences happen as part of that confirmation.

( Just as I wrote that line, Dynamo the magician playing on the telly in the background said : My grandfather always told me that there was no such thing as coincidences, just things that were waiting to happen… )

Spooky that.
Well back to my true story.

Last time I held my market stall in Brixton Station Road

The collectible section of my market stall.

( a very seldom affair) , a very lovely man spent an awful long time pouring over my stock , clearly deep in thought. I’m quite a shy sort, and I’m not quick to offer help so waited for the inevitable inquiry.

” Could you make a dog to order? I’ve got a Jack Russel that I’d love to have made as a gift for a friend who looks after her for me.”
Well I love a challenge so I gave him my card and waited for the contact.

One one side of my business card I have my crochet business details.

On the flip side I have my Diane’s Puppets business details. I thought I’d combine the two in a multi purpose card. After all the target audience is virtually the same.
Well, a few months past and I totally forgot about this lovely man. That is until I received an email regarding making the dog for him. He had sent these lovely two pictures of Betty the dog

Lovely Betty the Jack Russel

She’s a sweetie

and asked if I could make her before the beginning of September.

That gave me loads of time, I’d surely get it done long before the deadline.

At the end of the email, he wrote this:

“Yes, I did check out your website as I was fascinated by the reverse side of your business card.
By a curious co-incidence you might like to check out my website : www.simonbuckley.co.uk

My curiosity prickled, I clicked on the link to find that the man who operated the Churchill Dog on the adverts

who had operated Margaret Thatcher’s puppet in Spitting Image and who was the legend that was Nobby the Sheep from Children’s telly had commissioned little ole me to make him something. Talk about a puppets connection… how strange. He lived locally too, in Brixton.
Here is his showreel.

Seriously Simon, I’m not worthy.

But I took the job on and within two days Betty the little puppy was finished. Here is the finished result:

Isn’t she cute? She even has a little ladybird on her nose as an added cute touch.
I’m delighted to report that Simon loved her . We spent a very lovely morning chatting puppets and crochet over a coffee in Brixton as I presented Betty to her owner.

 

I’m still sitting here smiling at the serendipity of it all. I think I must be doing something right.

 

A bespoke crochet your pet service soon to be launched here at Crochet Bright and Beautiful for just £30 you can have your own pet made young forever translated into crochet.  If you’re interested, leave a comment or email me on

thebabyfairyfifi@hotmail.com and make the subject line : Bespoke Pet and I’ll get back to you straight away.

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses to “Serendipity? Oh yes! Oh yes!

  1. Reblogged this on Diane's Puppets kids party heaven and commented:

    This has a foot in both camps of my life.

  2. How amazing. You did a great job on the dog.

  3. Just the cutest…I’m sure he had to love it!…what talent…and this gentleman saw it!…~mkg

  4. Great job on the dog, Diane! You even captured the dimension of his head versus body well. Way to go! What touches me more about this post is the serendipity of the encounter. You were open and receptive, and the Universe guided the connection. Beautiful story!

Leave a Reply

