Crochet Brooches, Badges and Sugar Skullduggery


When I meet the public when I have the opportunity to bring Crochet Bright and Beautiful to a market stall ( usually Brixton Station Road) I like to listen to suggestions. The public know what they want. I want to make things that the public like. It’s  a simple exchange.

The last time I held my stall I had a few bits and pieces of jewelry as well as my crochet. Some of the pieces featured crochet elements as well, like this rainbow necklace.

Although it was much admired, the lady was really looking for crochet brooches.

So with this in mind, I went home with the bee in my bonnet to make a few crochet brooches.

I first made rainbows.

They’re all different.

Then I made beautiful blowsy cotton roses with beading:

Then I made more folksy cabbage roses with a tiny ladybird detail.

I remembered the dinky 50’s style cherry brooch I had made with a vintage lady in mind:

So pretty: cherries and cherry blossom made with pure cotton and felted leaves

Keeping the vintage feel in mind, I made this pansy brooch

Pretty purple pansy

with lurex purple , beading embroidery and felt leaves. The little ladybird is a cute detail.

Then last but not least, I made some seriously funky sugar skulls, inspired by the wonderful Mexican Day of the Dead.

The skull collection so far.

I’ve really enjoyed making these fellows. Each one seems to have it’s own personality. The possibilities are endless with these crochet brooches. I’ve used various yarns, some with added lurex thread for added pizzazz. Sequins and beads add yet more sparkle to these audacious statement pieces. I shall be making more in still more colours. Every one guaranteed unique. ( I hate making the same thing twice!)

They measure 9cm /3.5 inches long and fasten with a pin at the back.
They cost just £6.50 each which I think is a bargain for such an original handmade piece of jewelry.

If you’d like one, ( or any of the other brooches above) please head over to my facebook page CROCHETBRIGHTANDBEAUTIFUL 

Like the page and just add a comment under the relevant picture and I shall get one to you . Payment via paypal. Don’t worry if you don’t have an account, I can send you an invoice which you can settle with any payment card.

If you don’t have Facebook, here they are in my Folksy Shop.

CROCHET BRIGHT AND BEAUTIFUL ON FOLKSY

So which is your favourite?

The white one on the bottom left is sold.

Hot off the hook!

The back of the brooches, felt backed, secure pinned.

Jolly skulls

If  you like what I do, please tell your friends and share my Facebook page with them. Thanks so much !

4 responses to “Crochet Brooches, Badges and Sugar Skullduggery

  1. Your stall is so bright and cheerful – you couldn’t walk past it! I love the flowers but for the slightly more unique the skulls are great. There looks to be quite a lot of detail in them which I guess=work but they are worth it. I like the lime green one!

  2. Cool! I’m liking the green skull in the bottom picture. He looks sinister! Almost like eye-candy with a hint of flowery fierceness. 🙂

  3. Oh! I love the skulls! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Performance Art inspires Crochet | Diane gets Crafty

Leave a Reply

