Cushion friend


Well, I did it. I said I’d make a cushion cover to go with my fireplace

Hand mosaic fireplace

and as a companion to red cushion

and here it is:

Isn't she a beauty?

I’m very pleased with the way she turned out ( oh yes, my cushion is definitely a lady, why would you question her feminine splendour?) The colours really sing out and she looks so fresh and cosy. I just love the freedom inherent in the granny square format to play with colour combinations, I love the pattern structure that ties in the different colour combinations. I know the granny square is much maligned as old fashioned, but I say I don’t care. I’m reclaiming the old fashioned and as an artist proclaiming it newly refreshed. So there!

Enough blithering on, I’ll let the pictures proclaim her splendour .

Button detail

Gorgeous colours

Back view

Red cushion gets cosy

Can you feel the love? Can you?

I can. And she feels… mmm cozy.

( Sinks into a pile of crochet deliciousness…)

 

3 responses to “Cushion friend

  1. Lovely! I too have a few one off cushions that need friends. Goodness know when I’ll get around to it.

  2. Pingback: A snuggle of cushions | Diane gets Crafty

  3. Pingback: Granny’s In the Pink | Diane gets Crafty

Leave a Reply

