Creating an heirloom


Crochet in round shape

Image via Wikipedia

My very first large crochet project was a blanket made up of granny squares and flower squares that I single crocheted together ( not terribly well to be honest) for my darling granddaughter ( there’s something about being a granny that brings out the crochet nut in me). I wanted to keep those first wonky attempts at granny squares because they were all part of my crochet journey that I wanted to remember, so I included them amongst the more proficient attempts, disguising their slightly deformed character , blending into a colourful whole. On completing around 300 granny squares they were all single crocheted together ( next time I will attempt a different method of joining as this way  looked a little clumsy) and made a looped edging.

The final result was very pleasing, even for a novice crocheter like me. My granddaughter absolutely loves her granny blanky as she loves to play peepbo underneath the lacy floweriness or sit on it to play with her toys.

So here is the completed blanket . Hope you like it and it inspires you to take up crochet yourself.

Granny's blanket with my mural in the background

 

Detail of flowers

Go on, have a go, it’s really not hard. All you need is a hook and some yarn and a bit of patience. Once you get the hang of it, it just speeds along. I think it really blows knitting out of the water for it’s versatility and speed. I’m a craftsperson of limited patience so speedy crafting just fits the bill for me.

Oh where did I learn to crochet? Was I taught by my own granny/mum? Not a chance, I learned by watching tutorials on Youtube. You gotta love technology.

One response to “Creating an heirloom

  1. Pingback: Granny gets cross | Diane gets Crafty

Leave a Reply

